You are here

Home
September 2012

:
Quite the Complement
Written By: 
Molly Hutter
Photography By: 
Tracy Turpen

Jessica Peterson and Ben Sielen, October 29, 2011, The William Aiken House


Though Jessica Peterson admits she’s always considered intra-office romances a no-no, she made an exception after what she says was one “casual, cool conversation” with Ben Sielen at an after-hours client dinner (then getting wind of the compliments he paid her by way of the workplace grapevine). 

A smart move, seeing as since their first date in 2007, the Charlotte residents have been inseparable. “We discovered we were perfect travel buds, fellow foodies, and concert junkies,” says Jessica. And it was the first of these common interests that, two years later, led the couple on a trip to Venice, where Ben proposed overlooking St. Mark’s Square.

Once back in the States, the planning began. First on the to-do list? Picking a venue. Wanting to steer clear of anywhere expected, Jessica threw out some far-flying locales, but Ben pitched the idea of a Charleston-set fête, which his bride-to-be loved. “The food, the history, fine art, and friendly people—we were smitten,” Jessica says of the city. “And we thought our guests would be, too.”

After enlisting Calder Clark Designs, the details of the day came into color-filled focus. Marrying the bride’s favorite hue (blue) with an autumnal shade of orange, Calder came up with the vibrant apricot and azure theme that colored much of the night—from the hand-stenciled aisle runner and servers’ attire to the furnishings, favors, and even the food.  And at just past 5 o’clock on that crisp, cool autumn evening, Jessica joined Ben at the end of the aisle—the start to a night she remembers as “romantic and sexy, heartfelt, and deliriously happy.” Following drinks in the courtyard and a supper in the ballroom, the party moved to the dance floor, where, “People didn’t stop dancing until the very last minute,” says Jessica. “Our guests—and we—still talk about how much fun everyone had.”

Vendor List
Aisle runner and hand-painted fabric pieces:
Anne Melvin; www.boutiquetents.net
Band: Deas Guyz; www.deasguyz.weebly.com
Bride’s gown: Vera Wang; www.verawang.com from BleuBelle Bridal; www.bleubellebridal.com
Bride’s sash: Doloris Petunia; www.dolorispetunia.com
Bride’s shoes: Jimmy Choo; www.jimmychoo.com
Calligrapher: Elizabeth Porcher Jones
Cake: Wedding Cakes by Jim Smeal; www.weddingcakesbyjimsmeal.com
Caterer: Fish Restaurant; www.pphgcharleston.com
Ceremony musicians: Archer String Trio; www.archermusic.com
Ceremony and reception location: The William Aiken House; www.pphgcharleston.com                
Florist and fabric production team: Blossoms Events; www.blossomsevents.com
Groom’s attire: Taylor Richards & Conger; www.trcstyle.com
Lighting: Technical Event Company (TEC Lighting); www.technicaleventcompany.com
Linens: DC Rental; www.dcrental.com
Photographer: Tracy Turpen
Planner: Calder Clark Designs; www.calderclark.com
Rentals and tenting: Snyder Event Rentals; www.snydereventrentals.com
Stationer: Dulles Designs; www.dullesdesigns.com
Transportation: Charleston Black Cab Company; www.charlestonblackcabcompany.com




RESOURCES

Recent Comments
TWEETS