You are here

Home
September 2012

:
Tons of Texture
Written By: 
Molly Hutter
Photographs By: 
Liz Banfield

Sara Jacoby & Dominick Maggio, April 21, 2012, Lowndes Grove Plantation


When Sara and Dominick met at a mutual friend’s birthday party in December 2007, conversation came easy. Chatting throughout the night, things went smoothly until, says Sara, “Dom asked for my phone number and got my name wrong!” Nonetheless, three years after she shared her digits, he proposed. For their nuptials, the New York residents chose Charleston—where Sara’s mom lives—then teamed with Tara Guérard Soirée to realize their vision of an old-world affair. After exchanging vows amid the oaks of Lowndes Grove, the couple and their guests celebrated with a three-course meal. Long tables were made intimate with textures—votive holders wearing intricate patterns, china with perforated trim, and flowers in slick, mercury glass vessels. Overhead, ruched blue chiffon panels and ivory drum shades broke up the sheer tent top—an effect that was colorful, layered, and relaxed. “We really wanted people to enjoy themselves,” Sara says of the night. “It was absolutely amazing.”

 

Vendor List
Bride’s attire: Amsale; www.amsale.com, short dress; Rachel Gilbert; www.rachelgilbert.com
Bridesmaids’ attire: Monique Lhuillier; www.moniquelhuillier.com
Calligrapher: Elizabeth Porcher Jones
Cakes: Kim Morgan of A Matter of Taste
Catering: Fish Restaurant; www.pphgcharleston.com
Ceremony music: String Ensemble through Debut, Inc.
Ceremony and reception location: Lowndes Grove Plantation; www.lowndesgrove.com
Event planning and design, floral, lighting, guest bags: Tara Guérard Soirée; www.taraguerardsoiree.com
Groom’s attire: Tom Ford; www.tomford.com
Hair: Kristy Cuthbert at Velvet Salon; www.velvetsaloncharleston.com
Makeup: Moore Makeup; www.mooremakeup.com
Photographer: Liz Banfield Photography; www.lizbanfield.com
Printing: The Lettered Olive; www.letteredolive.com
Reception music: The Maxx through East Coast Entertainment; www.eastcoastentertainment.com
Rentals: Snyder Event Rentals; www.snydereventrentals.com
Transportation: Absolutely Charleston; www.absolutelycharleston.com
Videographer: Joel Serrato Films; www.joelserratofilms.com
Vintage Lincoln: COMPASS Transportation; www.ridecompass.com




RESOURCES

Recent Comments
TWEETS