You are here

Home
Hands On Rice Planting

Date & Time

Thursday, May 16, 2013 (All day) to Saturday, May 18, 2013 (All day)

Event Details

By 1730, Charleston was exporting 20 million pounds of rice annually. Now, Middleton Place offers guests a chance to lend a hand in the process of planting the former cash crop. Led by a costumed interpreter, participants hear tales of Lowcountry plantations and how Carolina Gold rice was cultivated, making Charleston one of the wealthiest states during the 18th and 19th centuries. Middleton Place, 4300 Ashley River Rd. Thursday-Saturday, 10am-noon. $28-$10; free for child under five. (843)556-6020, www.middletonplace.org

Upcoming Events

Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 12:00pm to 7:00pm
Saturday, May 21, 2016 - 10:00am to Sunday, May 22, 2016 - 10:00am
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 7:00pm to 10:00pm
Monday, June 13, 2016 - 9:00am to Friday, June 17, 2016 - 12:00pm
Sunday, July 31, 2016 - 6:30pm
Sunday, May 22, 2016 - 7:00pm
Friday, September 23, 2016 - 10:00am to Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 5:00pm
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 5:30pm to 7:30pm
Friday, May 13, 2016 - 5:00pm to 8:30pm
Wednesday, May 25, 2016 - 5:30pm to 8:30pm

Pages