You are here

Home
Hands On Rice Planting

Date & Time

Thursday, May 16, 2013 (All day) to Saturday, May 18, 2013 (All day)

Event Details

By 1730, Charleston was exporting 20 million pounds of rice annually. Now, Middleton Place offers guests a chance to lend a hand in the process of planting the former cash crop. Led by a costumed interpreter, participants hear tales of Lowcountry plantations and how Carolina Gold rice was cultivated, making Charleston one of the wealthiest states during the 18th and 19th centuries. Middleton Place, 4300 Ashley River Rd. Thursday-Saturday, 10am-noon. $28-$10; free for child under five. (843)556-6020, www.middletonplace.org

Upcoming Events

Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 7:00pm
Tuesday, May 23, 2017 - 7:30pm
Monday, April 24, 2017 - 10:00am
Monday, June 19, 2017 - 8:00am to Tuesday, June 20, 2017 - 5:00pm
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 7:30pm to Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 7:30pm
Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 7:00pm
Saturday, April 29, 2017 - 7:30pm
Saturday, April 29, 2017 - 8:00pm
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 1:30pm to Thursday, April 27, 2017 - 8:00am
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 7:30pm

Pages