You are here

Home

Date & Time

Thursday, May 16, 2013 (All day) to Saturday, May 18, 2013 (All day)

Event Details

By 1730, Charleston was exporting 20 million pounds of rice annually. Now, Middleton Place offers guests a chance to lend a hand in the process of planting the former cash crop. Led by a costumed interpreter, participants hear tales of Lowcountry plantations and how Carolina Gold rice was cultivated, making Charleston one of the wealthiest states during the 18th and 19th centuries. Middleton Place, 4300 Ashley River Rd. Thursday-Saturday, 10am-noon. $28-$10; free for child under five. (843)556-6020, www.middletonplace.org

Upcoming Events

Sunday, September 28, 2014 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 26, 2014 - 11:00am
Thursday, August 28, 2014 - 8:30pm
Saturday, August 30, 2014 - 5:00pm
Thursday, October 23, 2014 - 6:30pm
Friday, October 17, 2014 - 7:00pm
Sunday, October 26, 2014 - 7:00pm
Saturday, August 30, 2014 - 7:00pm
Friday, August 29, 2014 - 6:00pm
Saturday, September 20, 2014 - 11:00am

Pages

Recent Comments
TWEETS