You are here

Home
“An Encounter with Simone Weil”

Date & Time

Thursday, January 31, 2013 (All day)

Location

Recital Hall, Simons Center for the Arts, College of Charleston

Event Details

In Simone Weil’s short life of 34 years, she fought in the Spanish Civil War, debated Leon Trotsky, and was part of the French Resistance. She advocated for the poor and disenfranchised in France and for colonized people around the world. She had three mystical experiences, but challenged organized religion. For these reasons, Albert Camus described Weil as “the only great spirit of our time.” See for yourself at this screening, where filmmaker Julia Haslett takes you on a journey through Weil’s life, as well as to the heart of what it truly means to be a compassionate person. Recital Hall, Simons Center for the Arts, College of Charleston, 54 St. Philip St. Thursday, 7pm. Free. (843)953-4422, www.halsey.cofc.edu

Upcoming Events

Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 6:00pm
Saturday, May 7, 2016 - 6:00pm
Monday, May 9, 2016 - 11:00am
Thursday, May 12, 2016 - 7:30pm
Friday, May 13, 2016 - 6:30pm
Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 12:00pm
Saturday, May 14, 2016 - 9:00am
Tuesday, May 17, 2016 - 7:00pm
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 6:00pm
Friday, May 27, 2016 - 7:00pm to Sunday, May 29, 2016 - 7:00pm

Pages