You are here

Home

Date & Time

Thursday, January 31, 2013 (All day)

Location

Recital Hall, Simons Center for the Arts, College of Charleston

Event Details

In Simone Weil’s short life of 34 years, she fought in the Spanish Civil War, debated Leon Trotsky, and was part of the French Resistance. She advocated for the poor and disenfranchised in France and for colonized people around the world. She had three mystical experiences, but challenged organized religion. For these reasons, Albert Camus described Weil as “the only great spirit of our time.” See for yourself at this screening, where filmmaker Julia Haslett takes you on a journey through Weil’s life, as well as to the heart of what it truly means to be a compassionate person. Recital Hall, Simons Center for the Arts, College of Charleston, 54 St. Philip St. Thursday, 7pm. Free. (843)953-4422, www.halsey.cofc.edu

Upcoming Events

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 11:00am
Friday, March 13, 2015 - 12:00pm
Tuesday, March 17, 2015 - 12:00pm
Saturday, March 21, 2015 - 9:30am
Thursday, March 26, 2015 - 7:00pm
Friday, March 27, 2015 - 12:00pm
Sunday, April 19, 2015 - 8:00pm to Monday, April 20, 2015 - 8:00pm
Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 6:30pm
Friday, March 13, 2015 - 6:30pm
Saturday, March 14, 2015 - 6:00pm

Pages

Recent Comments
TWEETS